Personal tools
Share this page: |
Document Actions

Faculty Honors

Evan Pugh University Professors

The 68 professors who have earned the Evan Pugh title (22 are active professors) are humanists as well as scientists. Their fields include: agriculture, anthropology, art history, arts and humanities, astronomy, atmospheric science, biophysics, chemistry, engineering (aerospace and electrical), English, geography, geosciences, health and human development, materials science, mathematics, medicine, microbiology, pharmacology, philosophy, physical science, physics, physiology, plant pathology, political science, psychology, the solid state, and surgery.

Each Evan Pugh Professor was chosen for the honor because he or she "has displayed the courage to pioneer in his or her field, the discipline to remain at the forefront of research, and the generosity of spirit to share these accomplishments with students."

Faculty Scholar Medals

The 2015 Faculty Scholar Medals for Outstanding Achievement were awarded to: John Badding, Physical Sciences; Robert Nairn, Arts and Humanities; Song Tan, Life and Health Sciences; Robert J. Turrisi, Social and Behavioral Sciences; and Qiming Zhang, Engineering.

The Faculty Scholar Medals are given each year to recognize scholarly or creative excellence in one of five areas: arts and humanities, engineering, health and life sciences, physical sciences, or social and behavioral sciences. The work for which the medal is received must have been completed during the preceding five years. Established by the Board of Trustees in 1980, the award consists of a medal (created by Professor Emeritus John Cook) and $5,000. Awards are not given in each category each year.


National Awards

A private organization of fewer than 2,700 scientists and engineers, the National Academy of Sciences was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by Abraham Lincoln. The academy acts as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, on any matter of science or technology. Several Penn Staters are members of the National Academy of Sciences.