Evan Pugh University Professors

Since 1960, seventy-five professors have earned the title of Evan Pugh University Professor. Chosen for the honor because he or she "has displayed the courage to pioneer in his or her field, the discipline to remain at the forefront of research, and the generosity of spirit to share these accomplishments with students," these professors are humanists as well as scientists. Their fields include: agriculture, anthropology, art history, arts and humanities, astronomy, atmospheric science, biophysics, business, chemistry, engineering, English, geography, geosciences, health and human development, materials science, mathematics, medicine, microbiology, pharmacology, philosophy, physical science, physics, physiology, plant pathology, political science, psychology, the solid state, and surgery.

Penn State's official criteria, on which a committee of seven members judges a candidate on their “research publications, creative work or both, have been of the highest quality over a period of time, and [has shown] evidence of having contributed significantly to the education of students who later achieve recognition for excellence in the candidate's discipline or interdisciplinary area." The clause concerning students was added in 1973, after the first nine Evan Pugh University Professors had been appointed, to provide, said the Board of Trustees, "a more realistic program for the recognition of outstanding professors."

The following list of Evan Pugh University Professors is given in reverse chronological order by appointment year and department. 
 * Indicates current Evan Pugh University Professor


Abhay Ashtekar - Physics*
Squire Booker - Chemistry*
Akhlesh Lakhtakia - Engineering Science & Mechanics*
Lynn Liben - Psychology*


Karen L. Bierman - Psychology and Human Development and Family Studies*
Katherine H. Freeman - Geosciences*
Thomas LaPorta - Electrical Engineering and Computer Science*


Nina G. Jablonski - Anthropology*
B. Frank Pugh - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology*
Andrew F. Read - Biology, and Entomology*


Jainendra K. Jain - Physics*
James F. Kasting - Geosciences*
Bruce E. Logan - Environmental Engineering*


Judith S. Bond – Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Donald C. Hambrick – Management*
Thomas E. Mallouk – Chemistry


Nigel Higson – Mathematics*
Mary Jane Irwin – Computer Science  and Engineering



Anthony Cutler – Art History
Joanna Floros – Cellular and Molecular Physiology*



Nina V. Fedoroff – Life Sciences
Alan Walker – Anthropology and Biology



Richard B. Alley – Geosciences*
Kenneth M. Weiss – Anthropology and Genetics



Robert D. Hume – English*
Aleksander Wolszczan – Astronomy and Astrophysics*



James B. Anderson – Chemistry
Paul F. Baum – Mathematics*
Leonard S. Jefferson – Cellular and Molecular Physiology


Moses H. W. Chan – Physics
Judith F. Dunn – Human Development
Hellmut Hager – Art History
Masatoshi Nei – Biology
Robert Plomin – Human Development


Welford Castleman – Chemistry
Peter R. Gould – Geography
Budugur Lakshminarayana – Aerospace Engineering
Gerald E. McClearn – Health and Human Development
William S. Pierce – Surgery
Richard J. Santen – Medicine
K. Warner Schaie – Human Development and Psychology
Joseph J. Villafranca – Chemistry 

Stanley Weintraub - Arts & Humanities



Harry R. Allcock – Chemistry*
Eric L. Cross – Electrical Engineering
Gordon P. Garmire – Astronomy
Anthony Pegg – Physiology
Stanley H. Rosen – Philosophy
William T. Sanders - Anthropology
Nicholas Winograd – Chemistry*
Francis T. S. Yu – Electrical Engineering


George E. Andrews – Mathematics*
Paul T. Baker – Anthropology
Rustum Roy – Solid State
Elliot S. Vesell – Pharmacology
Philip Young – English


Fred Rapp – Microbiology






Eugenio Battisti – Art History
Stephen J. Benkovic – Chemistry
Herschel W. Leibowitz – Psychology



Vernon J. Aspaturian – Political Science
John L. Lumley – Aerospace Engineering
Howard E. Morgan – Physiology
Richard R. Nelson – Plant Pathology
Philip S. Skell – Chemistry
Philip L. Walker – Materials Science


John M. Anderson – Philosophy
Erwin W. Mueller – Physics


Ernest C. Pollard – Biophysics


Hans A. Panofsky – Atmospheric Sciences
Stuart Patton – Agricultural Sciences


Ferdinand G. Brickwedde – Physics


David H. Rank – Physics


Haskell B. Curry – Mathematics
Woldemar A. Weyl – Physical Science