Prize Opportunities for Penn State

Below is a list of prizes for which Penn State has been invited to apply. If you are interested in applying or nominating a faculty member for any of the prizes listed below, please contact Michelle Hutnik at

The Tang Prize

The Tang Prize allocates a grant of NT$10 million to each award category to help extend laureates’ influence by funding their research projects which can be run up to 5 years. Penn State is invited to nominate faculty in one of four categories: Sustainable Development, Biopharmaceutical Science, Sinology, and Rule of Law.


The Tang Prize

The Hoffmann Academic Award for Intercultural Competence 2020

The University of Vechta annually confers the Hoffmann Academic Award for Intercultural Competence, sponsored by the Vechta-based travel company Hoffmann Reisen GmbH. The award comes with a cash prize of 10,000 Euros.

The Hoffmann Academic Award is part of a long-term programme aimed at promoting intercultural competence, which is the key to peaceful and constructive co-operation between people of various ethnic, cultural and religious backgrounds. Intercultural competence enables us to identify common ground and to learn from our characteristic features. In many ways, intercultural issues are an integrl element of academic research for numerous disciplines. 

The aim of the Hoffmann Academic Award is to support the endeavours of an outstanding academic by awarding a prize to groundbreaking work on topics of intercultural competence. Such work may concentrate on researching the topic from the perspective of a single discipline or it may be interdisciplinary in nature. 

Hoffmann Academic Award Guidelines

For Women in Science International Awards

Created in 1998, the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science International Awards recognize and support eminent women in science throughout the world. Each year, five Laureates are recognized for their contributions to the advancement of science, in Life Sciences or Physical Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science in alternating years. The 2021 edition of the Awards will designate five outstanding scientific researchers in the field of Physical Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science, working in the following regions:

  • Africa & the Arab States
  • Asia and the Pacific
  • Europe
  • Latin America and the Caribbean
  • North America

One candidate will be selected for each of the five regions, the determining factor being the place of work for at least 5 years, not the nationality of the candidate. Each of the five Laureates will receive an award of €100,000. Deadline for nominations is MAY 31ST, 2020. 

For Women in Science

The Holberg Prize 

The Holberg Prize is an international prize awarded annually for outstanding contributions to research in the humanities, social sciences, law and theology. The nomination deadline is 15 June each year. The Holberg Laureate is announced in March and the award ceremony takes place during the Holberg Week in early June.

The Holberg Prize was established by the Norwegian Parliament in 2003 and is awarded annually to a scholar who has made outstanding contributions to research in the arts and humanities, social sciences, law or theology. The prize may be awarded both for work within a particular academic discipline and for work of a cross-disciplinary nature. The recipient must have had a decisive influence on international research.

The Prize is worth NOK 6,000,000 (approximately EUR 525,000 / USD 575,000 per April 2020). The nomination deadline is JUNE 15 each year.

The Holberg Prize

The Japan Prize

The Japan Prize is a prestigious international award presented to individuals whose original and outstanding achievements are not only scientifically impressive, but have also served to promote peace and prosperity for all mankind. The Prize is awarded by the Japan Prize Foundation. Since its inception in 1985, the Foundation has awarded 91 laureates as of April 2016 from 13 countries.

In principle, the award is intended for a single person but small groups of researchers are also eligible. The person must be alive to be named a Japan Prize Laureate. A complete listing of the Laureates honored to date along with information about their research is available here.

The Japan Prize

The LUI Che Woo Prize

The LUI Che Woo Prize for 2020 has been deferred until 2021 due to COVID-19.

The LUI Che Woo Prize aims to recognise and honour individuals or organisations all over the world with outstanding achievements and contributions in respect of the following three objectives:

  • Objective 1: Sustainable development of the world: This objective is to recognise an outstanding achievement of an individual or an organisation in maintaining a sustainable ecological balance and natural capital on the one hand and providing for the needs of future generations on the other.
  • Objective 2: Betterment of the welfare of mankind: This objective is to acknowledge an outstanding effort of an individual or an organisation to enhance the well-being of the human race.
  • Objective 3: Promotion of positive life attitude and enhancement of positive energy: This objective is to honour a model which can be an individual or an organisation of unwavering determination demonstrated in the adoption of a positive attitude and making constructive changes in the face of setbacks, hardship and adversity.

The LUI Che Woo Prize

The Wolf Prize

We are pleased to invite you to submit candidate(s), both women and men, for the 2020 WOLF PRIZE. WOLF PRIZE in the SCIENCES and ARTS is awarded since 1978 to outstanding artists and scientists for their achievements for the benefit of mankind and brotherly relations among peoples, regardless of nationality, race, color, religion, sex or political views. Each nominee must have had a distinguished international career.
In 2020 prizes will be awarded in the following categories:
Sciences - Agriculture, Physics, Mathematics and Medicine.
Arts- Painting& Sculpture.

Return the Nomination Form duly completed via e-mail to and all additional material should be received by us not later than September 16, 2019.

The Wolf Prize


Ton Duc Thang University Scientific Prize is established with the avowed purposes of honoring Vietnamese and international scientists who have excellent research and contribute positively to society.

It is our pleasure to invite candidates around the world to submit your application for Ton Duc Thang University Scientific Prize.


Ton Duc Thang University Scientific Prize