Faculty Honors

The National Academy logo, a woman with a staph

National Academy Listings

Penn State currently has members in the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts and Scienes, and the National Academy of Inventors.

Click here to see a list of Penn State members in each Academy. 


The Evan Pugh Medal, a bronze sculpted award on a ribbon.

Evan Pugh University Professors

The 75 professors who have earned the Evan Pugh title are humanists as well as scientists. Their fields include: agriculture, anthropology, art history, arts and humanities, astronomy, atmospheric science, biophysics, chemistry, engineering (aerospace and electrical), English, geography, geosciences, health and human development, materials science, mathematics, medicine, microbiology, pharmacology, philosophy, physical science, physics, physiology, plant pathology, political science, psychology, the solid state, and surgery.

Each Evan Pugh Professor was chosen for the honor because he or she "has displayed the courage to pioneer in his or her field, the discipline to remain at the forefront of research, and the generosity of spirit to share these accomplishments with students."

Click here to see a list of Evan Pugh University Professors.


Faculty Scholar Award Medal

Faculty Scholar Medals

The 2016 Faculty Scholar Medals for Outstanding Achievement were awarded to:  Squire Booker, professor of Chemistry in the Eberly College of Science, Kim Cook, professor of Music in Cello in the College of Arts and Architecture, S. Shyam Sundar, distinguished professor in the College of Communications, and Mauricio Terrones, professor of Chemistry in the Eberly College of Science.

The Faculty Scholar Medals are given each year to recognize scholarly or creative excellence in one of five areas: arts and humanities, engineering, health and life sciences, physical sciences, or social and behavioral sciences. The work for which the medal is received must have been completed during the preceding five years. Established by the Board of Trustees in 1980, the award consists of a medal (created by Professor Emeritus John Cook) and $5,000. Awards are not given in each category each year.

View current and past medal winners here.