HRPP Advisory Committee

The HRPP Advisory Committee, formed in 2021 as part of the IRB transformation, consists primarily of active researchers from across the University. This committee plays an integral role in advising on key changes for the HRPP and facilitating productive discussion amongst their colleagues and departments. The goals of the Committee include:

  • gathering honest feedback on the transformation,
  • identifying issues in review processes,
  • and assessing the HRPP’s progress and success towards the identified goals.

HRPP Advisory Committee Membership

Co-Chairs

Debra Thurley, Assistant Vice President for Research

Dr. Zachary Simmons, Vice Chair for Research and Professor of Neurology

HRPP Advsiory Committee Membership

Committee Member

Departmental Title

Campus

Email

Dr. Peter Arnett Psychology UP paa6@psu.edu
Dr. Michael Bernstein Psychological & Social Science Abington mjb70@psu.edu
Dr. Valerie Brown Pediatric Hematology & Oncology COM vbrown1@pennstatehealth.psu.edu
Ms. Melissa Butt Dermatology COM mbutt1@pennstatehealth.psu.edu
Dr. David Conroy Kinesiology UP dec9@psu.edu
Dr. Laura Cruz Schreyer Institute - Teaching Excellence UP lxc601@psu.edu
Dr. John Elfar Orthopaedics COM jelfar@pennstatehealth.psu.edu
Dr. Ian Gilchrist HVI COM igilchrist@pennstatehealth.psu.edu
Dr. Patricia Gordon Human Genetics COM pgordon@pennstatehealth.psu.edu
Dr. Helene Hopfer Food Science UP hxh83@psu.edu
Dr. Jen Kraschnewski Internal Medicine COM jkraschnewski@pennstatehealth.psu.edu
Ms. Rachel Lally Office for Research Protections   rcl5324@psu.edu
Dr. Benjamin Levi Pediatrics COM blevi@pennstatehealth.psu.edu
Dr. Jennie Noll Health and Human Development UP jgn3@psu.edu
Dr. Kathryn Schmitz Public Health Sciences, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, PSCI COM kschmitz@phs.psu.edu
Dr. Zachary Simmons Neurology COM zsimmons@pennstatehealth.psu.edu
Ms. Debra Thurley Office for Research Protections   djd116@psu.edu
Ms. Candy Yekel Office for Research Protections   cay3@psu.edu

Share Your Feedback or Suggestions!